Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility
Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called

FAIResponsibility

BEING FAIR WITH THE WORLD

Martin had two questions when he founded Koncept Hotels in 2017: How can we help solve the problems of the hotel industry? And how can we as a young hotel company make our contribution to the United Nations’ big Sustainable Development Goals?

The answer to both these questions was Koncept hotels. We have created space for investment with our digitised, self-service based hotel concept, which allows us to guarantee holistic, sustainable operation. By looking toward the Sustainable Development Goals adopted by the United Nations in 2016, we do not define our corporate success solely by means of key business figures. We instead measure ourselves against the goals of the German Sustainability Strategy and the Open Knowledge Foundation funded by the European Union.

Koncept Hotel H2O in Siegburg bei Bonn und Köln

LET’S START WITH WHY

As hoteliers, we want to make our contribution to the 17 United Nations sustainable development goals.

Climate-damaging greenhouse gas emissions produced from global tourism is now estimated to be up to 8 percent of global greenhouse gas emissions. The hotel industry plays a large part in that. Food is still being wasted at buffet restaurants; soaps and shampoos packed in disposable plastic create horrendous amounts of waste, and the high consumption of chemical detergents in daily housekeeping and laundry is a burden on both the oceans and the groundwater. The furniture produced in low-wage countries is usually not made with renewable raw materials and requires long transport distances.

And another major area for improvement can be seen when we look at the labour conditions in the classic hotel industry. The increased cost pressure is often met with subcontractors for room cleaning, construction and maintenance of hotels, who are paid below-average wages. Challenging working hours create difficulties reconciling work and family life; there is a lack of flexible working-hours models, and there are hardly any attractive positions for people over 60. The executive floor in particular in no way represents the diversity of our society. This long list of issues that bother us about our industry made us look inward at the motivation behind our actions.

We knew one thing for certain: The hotel business has to change too.

Koncept Hotel Liebelei in Vienna near Schönbrunn Castle

DIGITISATION AS A GAME CHANGER

The Enquête Commission on the “Protection of Human Beings and the Environment” presented relevant findings as early as 1994 in a magical triangle. According to these findings, a company can only be sustainable if ecology, social affairs and economics are of equal importance and are systematically linked with each another.

The classic hotel industry is a low-margin business in which traditional approaches leave little room for investment in social and environmental issues. However, it was important to us from the outset to be so efficient that social and environmental issues could be taken into account and given equal priority. Inspired by the shortage of skilled workers in our industry, we have developed digitised solutions for standard processes in the company.

Through digitisation, we are able to optimise our processes from accounting to guest self-service and create cost advantages that are reinvested in the two other areas. For example, the salaries of all levels of our hierarchy are well above the industry average; we donate a portion of our income annually to selected non-profit organisations, and we rely on regionally and sustainably produced room furnishings as far as possible. We also follow these principles when selecting our partners and suppliers.

Our digitisation approach received the industry-leading Digital Leader Award 2018 in 2018.

Koncept Hotels - digital. fair. local.

STEP BY STEP TO THE GOAL

We have outlined a perfect world within the hotel industry in intensive workshops and with the help of experienced external partners. In outlining this world, we are guided by the 17 goals for sustainable development which form the basis of our sustainability strategy.

From the beginning, we were aware that we had to concentrate on specific areas and that our contribution to the big picture would only be a small one. Nevertheless, it was important for us, in particular as a small company, to anchor sustainable business values in our company even as early as the start-up phase. This just forms the basis for doing more.

We focus on measurable goals and rely on the official key figures of the German Sustainable Development Strategy 2016 of the Federal Government for our selected indicators. These are complemented by relevant indicators from the Open Knowledge Foundation funded by the European Union. We now quantify seven goals and compare them with the Federal Government’s target values in an annual report.

OUR GOALS

GOAL #1: GENDER EQUALITY

In addition to filling the positions in our company with an eye toward gender equality, we pay particular attention to transparency about wages and a correspondingly low earnings gap between women and men. In doing so, we feel more committed to our own understanding of justice than government initiatives such as the Salary Transparency Act, which we would not even fall under due to our small number of employees. We also indirectly influence indicators, such as the unequal distribution of housework between men and women, with a strong focus on working from home and reconciling work and family life.

Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility

GOAL #2: CLEAN WATER & SANITATION

Although direct promotion of drinking water and sanitation is not part of our primary business, it is still very important to us as it has a direct relationship to the hospitality industry. When purchasing toilet paper and bottled water for our hotels, we support two initiatives, Goldeimer and Viva con Agua, that are promoting access to drinking water and sanitary facilities worldwide. Furthermore, we are continuously reducing the use of environmentally-incompatible, chemical cleaning agents to positively influence both the phosphorus content in running waters and the nitrate in the groundwater, albeit indirectly and to a small extent.

Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility

GOAL #3: AFFORDABLE & CLEAN ENERGY

Through the use of energy-efficient equipment and sensor-linked lighting control and the latest heating technology in our hotel rooms, as well as by doing away with energy inefficient furnishings, some of which are considered a given by guests, such as a mini-bar and air conditioning, we strive to be as energy efficient as possible and to have rooms that produce the lowest emissions possible. The electricity used for this purpose comes exclusively from renewable energies – from hydro, wind and solar energy.

Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility

GOAL #4: DECENT WORK & ECONOMIC GROWTH

We also strive for the generous and fair payment of our employees and service providers, especially in traditional low-wage sectors such as cleaning. And we try to achieve a good blend of all age groups in our company, so people who are often disadvantaged in the hotel industry when it comes to hiring (mothers, people over 60, people with disabilities) can earn a decent living in our hotel.

Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility

GOAL #5: REDUCED INEQUALITIES

The Gini coefficient gives us a good overview of how the payroll in our company is distributed. Of course, even if we do not pay the same salary for everyone (coefficient = 0), we strive to ensure that all our employees receive equally fair pay. We are also committed to reducing discrimination and inequality in our society: We actively involve people with disabilities, migrants and other populations facing discrimination, in our day-to-day work, and we help and support initiatives against discrimination and inequality.

Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility

GOAL #6: SUSTAINABLE CITIES & COMMUNITIES

What we try to encourage among our guests, of course, also applies to us: In order to live more sustainably, we use climate-neutral means of transport whenever possible. We do not use take flights within Germany, and we also prefer to travel by train to our hotels in Switzerland and Austria.

Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility

GOAL #7: RESPONSIBLE CONSUMPTION & PRODUCTION

We are also working in different places in our hotels to reduce our ecological footprint and that of our guests: For example, we are continuously reducing all plastic and unnecessary packaging waste; we rely on biologically and sustainably produced cosmetics and hygiene products, have nearly paperless hotel rooms, and have done away with small packaging and, to a large extent, breakfast buffets as well.

Sustainablility at Koncept Hotels is called FAIResponisbility

OUR PROJECTS

Besides all the little things we try to do differently in our everyday life, there are a few beacon projects we are especially proud of.

Discover your passion for…

Koncept Hotels

Book experience

B'n'Tree & Koncept Hotels in Kyinderi, Ghana
Nachhaltigkeit bei Koncept Hotels heisst

FAIResponsibility

FAIR MIT DER WELT

Zwei Fragen beschäftigten Martin als er 2017 Koncept Hotels gründete: Wie kann man die Probleme der Hotellerie lösen? Und wie kann man als junges Hotelunternehmen seinen Beitrag zu den großen Sustainable Development Goals der Vereinten Nationen leisten?

Herausgekommen sind die Koncept Hotels. Durch unser digitalisiertes, auf Self-Service beruhendes Hotelkonzept schaffen wir Investitionsspielräume, die es uns ermöglichen, eine holistische, nachhaltige Betriebsführung zu garantieren. Angelehnt an die 2016 von den Vereinten Nationen verabschiedeten Ziele zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung – die Sustainable Development Goals – definieren wir unseren Unternehmenserfolg nicht allein durch betriebswirtschaftliche Kennzahlen. Stattdessen messen wir uns den Zielen der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und der von der Europäische Union geförderten Open Knowledge Foundation.

Koncept Hotel H2O in Siegburg bei Bonn und Köln

LET’S START WITH WHY

Seit dem Inkrafttreten der 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen möchten wir als Hoteliers unseren Beitrag dazu leisten.

Den Ausstoß klimaschädlicher Treibhausgase durch den weltweiten Tourismus beziffern Forscher mittlerweile auf bis zu 8 Prozent der globalen Treibhausgasemissionen. Daran hat die Hotelbranche einen großen Anteil. Noch immer werden Lebensmittel übermäßig an Buffetrestaurants verschwendet, in Einwegplastik verpackte Seifen und Shampoos erzeugen horrende Müllmengen, der hohe Verbrauch chemischer Reinigungsmittel bei der täglichen Zimmerreinigung und Wäsche belastet sowohl die Weltmeere als auch das Grundwasser. Die in Niedriglohnländern produzierte Zimmerausstattung wird in der Regel nicht mit nachwachsenden Rohstoffen produziert und verlangt lange Transportwege.

Und betrachtet man die Arbeitsbedingungen in der klassischen Hotellerie, offenbart sich eine weitere Großbaustelle. Dem gestiegenen Kostendruck wird häufig mit unterdurchschnittlichen bezahlten Sub-Unternehmern in Zimmerreinigung, Bau- und Instandhaltung von Hotels begegnet. Herausfordernde Arbeitszeiten erzeugen eine schwierige Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie, es herrscht ein Mangel an flexiblen Arbeitszeitmodellen und attraktive Arbeitsangebote für Menschen jenseits der 60 sucht man vergeblich. Insbesondere die Führungsetagen repräsentieren in keinster Weise die Diversität unserer Gesellschaft. Die lange Liste an relevanten Punkten, die uns an unserer Branche stören, ließ uns nach dem Sinn hinter unserem Tun suchen.

Uns war klar: Hotellerie muss auch anders gehen.

Koncept Hotel Liebelei in Wien bei Schloss Schönbrunn

DIGITALISIERUNG ALS GAME CHANGER

Die Enquête-Kommission zum »Schutz des Menschen und der Umwelt« stellte bereits 1994 ihre Erkenntnisse in einem magischen Dreieck dar. Demnach kann ein Unternehmen nur dann nachhaltig sein, wenn Ökologie, Soziales und Ökonomie gleichrangig sind und in systematischer Weise miteinander verknüpft werden.

Die klassische Hotellerie ist ein margenschwaches Geschäft, in dem bei traditionellen Ansätzen wenig Spielraum für Investitionen in Soziales und Umwelt bleibt. Für uns war jedoch von Beginn an wichtig, so effizient zu wirtschaften, dass soziale und Umweltfragen berücksichtigt werden können und gleichrangige Priorität genießen. Inspiriert von dem Fachkräftemangel in unserer Branche haben wir digitalisierte Lösungen für Standardabläufe im Betrieb erarbeitet.

Durch Digitalisierung optimieren wir von der Buchhaltung bis zum Guest Self Service unsere Abläufe und schaffen Kostenvorteile, die in den beiden anderen Bereichen reinvestiert werden. So liegen die Gehälter aller Hierarchiestufen deutlich über dem Branchenschnitt, einen Teil unserer Erträge spenden wir jährlich an ausgewählte gemeinnützige Organisationen, und wir leisten uns möglichst regional und nachhaltig produzierte Zimmerausstattungen. Diese Prinzipien verfolgen wir insbesondere auch bei der Auswahl unserer Partner und Zulieferer.

Unser Digitalisierungsansatz wurde 2018 mit dem branchenübergreifenden Digital Leader Award 2018 ausgezeichnet.

Koncept Hotels - digital. fair. local.

SCHRITT FÜR SCHRITT ANS ZIEL

In intensiven Workshops und mit Hilfe erfahrener externer Partner haben wir uns eine perfekte Welt innerhalb der Hotellerie skizziert. Dabei orientieren wir uns an den 17 Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung, der Basis unserer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie.

Dabei war uns von Beginn an bewusst, dass wir uns auf spezielle Bereiche konzentrieren müssen und unser Beitrag zum großen Ganzen nur ein kleiner sein wird. Dennoch ist es für uns wichtig, insbesondere auch als kleines Unternehmen bereits in der Gründungsphase nachhaltiges Wirtschaften in den Unternehmenswerten zu verankern. Dies sollte der Startschuss zu mehr sein.

Dabei konzentrieren wir uns auf messbare Ziele und greifen bei den ausgewählten Indikatoren zurück auf die offiziellen Kennzahlen der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstragie 2016 der Bundesregierung. Diese werden ergänzt durch relevante Indikatoren der von der Europäischen Union geförderten Open Knowledge Foundation. Sieben Ziele erheben wir nun quantitativ und vergleichen diese in einem jährlichen Bericht mit den Zielwerten der Bundesregierung.

UNSERE ZIELE

GOAL #1: GENDER EQUALITY

Neben einer möglichst geschlechter-paritätischen Besetzung aller Positionen in unserem Unternehmen, achten wir auch besonders auf Transparenz von Löhnen und einen dementsprechend geringen Verdienstabstand zwischen Frauen und Männern. Hierbei fühlen wir uns eher unserem eigenen Gerechtigkeitsverständnis verpflichtet als staatlichen Initiativen wie dem Entgelttransparenzgesetz, unter das wir aufgrund unserer geringen Mitarbeiteranzahl nicht einmal fallen würden. Auch Indikatoren, wie eine ungleiche Verteilung der Hausarbeit zwischen Männern und Frauen, beeinflussen wir indirekt mit einer starken Fokussierung auf Heimarbeit und der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf.

Nachhaltigkeit bei den Koncept Hotels heißt FAIResponsibility

GOAL #2: CLEAN WATER & SANITATION

Auch wenn eine direkte Förderung von Trinkwasser- und Sanitärversorgung nicht in unseren primären Geschäftsbereich fällt, so ist uns dies dennoch ein großes Anliegen, da sie einen unmittelbaren Bezug zum Gastgewerbe hat. So unterstützen wir in unseren Hotels durch das Beziehen von Toilettenpapier und abgefülltes Wasser die beiden Initiativen Goldeimer und Viva con Agua, die sich für den Zugang zu Trinkwasser und Sanitäranlagen weltweit einsetzen. Des Weiteren reduzieren wir die Nutzung von umweltunverträglichen, chemischen Reinigungsmitteln kontinuierlich um sowohl den Phosphorgehalt in Fließgewässern, als auch das Nitrat im Grundwasser – wenn auch indirekt und in kleinem Maße – positiv zu beeinflussen.

Nachhaltigkeit bei den Koncept Hotels heißt FAIResponsibility

GOAL #3: AFFORDABLE & CLEAN ENERGY

Durch den Einsatz von energieeffizienten Geräten und sensor-gebundener Lichtsteuerung auf den Zimmern unserer Hotels sowie modernster Heiztechnik, aber auch durch das Weglassen von energetisch ineffizienten, teilweise jedoch von Gästen als gegeben betrachteten Gegenständen wie eine Minibar oder Klimaanlagen, streben wir an, das energieeffizienteste und emissionsärmste Hotelzimmer zu erschaffen. Den hierfür gebrauchten Strom beziehen wir aus regenerativen Energien – um genau zu sein, ausschließlich aus Wasser-, Wind- und Solarenergie.

Nachhaltigkeit bei den Koncept Hotels heißt FAIResponsibility

GOAL #4: DECENT WORK & ECONOMIC GROWTH

Sowohl eine gute und faire Bezahlung unserer Mitarbeiter als auch unserer Dienstleister, vor allem in traditionellen Niedriglohnsektoren wie der Objektreinigung, sind uns ein großes Anliegen. Darüber hinaus versuchen auch eine gute Vermischung aller Altersstrukturen in unserem Unternehmen herzustellen, und so auch Menschen, die in der Hotellerie zumeist bei der Arbeitsplatzvergabe benachteiligt werden (Mütter, Menschen über 60, Menschen mit Behinderungen), in unserer Branche in Lohn und Brot zu bringen.

Nachhaltigkeit bei den Koncept Hotels heißt FAIResponsibility

GOAL #5: REDUCED INEQUALITIES

Das Äquivalenzeinkommen als Gini-Koeffizient gibt uns eine gute Übersicht, wie die Lohnsummen in unserem Unternehmen verteilt sind. Auch wenn wir natürlich nicht den gleichen Lohn für alle (Koeffizient = 0) zahlen, streben wir an, dass alle unsere Mitarbeiter gleich fair entlohnt werden. Auch setzen wir uns dafür ein, Diskriminierung und Ungleichheit in unserer Gesellschaft zu reduzieren: Wir binden aktiv Menschen mit Behinderungen, Migranten und andere potentiell häufiger Diskriminierung ausgesetzten Bevölkerungsgruppen in unsere tägliche Arbeit ein, und begleiten und unterstützen Initiativen gegen Diskriminierung und Ungleichheit.

Nachhaltigkeit bei den Koncept Hotels heißt FAIResponsibility

GOAL #6: SUSTAINABLE CITIES & COMMUNITIES

Was wir versuchen bei unseren Gästen anzuregen, gilt selbstredend auch für uns: Um nachhaltiger zu leben, legen wir so viele Kilometer mit klimaneutralen Verkehrsmitteln zurück wie nur irgendwie möglich. Auf innerdeutsche Flüge verzichten wir komplett und auch zu unseren Hotels in der Schweiz und in Österreich fahren wir am liebsten mit der Bahn.

Nachhaltigkeit bei den Koncept Hotels heißt FAIResponsibility

GOAL #7: RESPONSIBLE CONSUMPTION & PRODUCTION

Um unseren ökologischen Fußabdruck und den unserer Gäste zu reduzieren, arbeiten wir an verschiedenen Stellen in unseren Hotels: Wir reduzieren beispielsweise kontinuierlich alles eingesetzte Plastik und jeglichen überflüssigen Verpackungsmüll, setzen auf biologisch und nachhaltig hergestellte Kosmetik- und Hygieneartikel, haben nahezu papierlose Hotelzimmer, und verzichten auf Kleinstverpackungen und weitgehend auch auf Frühstücksbuffets.

Nachhaltigkeit bei den Koncept Hotels heißt FAIResponsibility

UNSERE PROJEKTE

Neben den vielen kleinen Dingen, die wir im Alltag versuchen anders zu machen, stechen ein paar Leuchtturmprojekte in unserer FAIResponsibility-Strategie heraus.

Entdecke deine Leidenschaft für…

Koncept Hotels

Erlebnis buchen